Rain Warriors.

 

I could hear the heavy Summer rain hitting against my window as I was rudely woke from my sleep just before seven. I thought to myself, isn’t that typical?! It seems like I won’t be going out later today and with that, I drifted back off to slumberland. I was woken a second time by the same monsoon. It sounded like the rain may never stop, even though there was promise of jungle like humidity later in the day when we trained. I finally got up at around ten and decided I would slowly get ready for training as the rain was meant to stop by the time we met, though that was looking unlikely as time went on. It seemed that most were against coming out today, even the weekly regulars! And who could blame them with the current weather! There was no James this weekend since he was away, due to that fact I had expected it to be great weather, as it usually was when he wasn’t free to be out with us.

In the end I decided against going out, the weather hadn’t and no doubt wouldn’t pick up for training. Adam seemed to be annoyed and still wanted to train, even if the current weather was terrible. He said he was going to meet up with Ben and get a jumping session in. I was tempted earlier, but now had decided not to, plus it didn’t seem like many were out, if anyone apart from them. At around one, it had started to dry up with the pavements drying too, not to mention the sun had even started to come out as well! I changed my mind and carried on getting ready in a rush to get to Plaza for two. I arrived to find just Ben there in his waterproof gear. Where the hell was Adam?! He left long before me and I had beat him there. Femi was running on black time as he always did, he had only just got up, seen the rain and instantly said he wasn’t feeling it, even though town was now sunny and dry. Will arrived, who had the same idea as me due to the weather change, followed by Adam.

 

Camera.

 

We practised a precision jump to a curb, instead of using a wall as a take off. We took off from a slopped wall which felt horrible, but it was a new challenge. Femi text and said he would be coming out after all, and for us to wait until he arrived… I really didn’t want to be waiting for him, time was already getting on. It would be past three, maybe even four at this rate before he arrived! I text back and said if he didn’t hurry, we could be anywhere, even places he hasn’t seen before and so he should make haste! We spent some time at IBM while we waited. I quite liked a precision Will was doing, down to wall in front of the railing surrounding the area. Adam was filming a few movements and filmed Luka doing a roll on and off a wall, which can be seen in the image above. I really liked the look and feel of that image. I didn’t expect him to even attempt that and it looked really nice when he did as well.

Femi arrived and just in time, we were growing tired of IBM and were ready to move on and only had remained due to Fem. He wanted to stay a bit longer, so he could warm up before we move and I we all agreed. It was just as well, as it provided me with some new images to the norm when I took some shots (one seen below) with Femi in shot watching Will as he did a kong over the outer railing. I must remember to experiment more with these type of shots in the future, as it adds a nice dimension to them. While Will was jumping around, he had inadvertently put his hand on a ladybird which prompted me to get some photos of them. Anyone that follows my blog, may remember on occasions I have taken images of lady bugs [1] [2] for no reason at all. I will forever remember Denis having ago at me for taking ‘nature’ shots of ‘random crap’ like ladybugs which always makes me smile when I think back on it.

 

Will – Kong.

 

We were now ready to move on to the next place, but where? I wanted to check out this new area some of the community had visited previously when I wasn’t out, with the Street Media (SM) guys. It seemed a nice looking area, though very few were fans of it?! I wanted to check it out as I thought it looked good and I like (usually) places others don’t. I must admit I felt a bit reluctant to enter the area, as you had to climb over and press the gate to get inside, though the fences were easy to climb over. It was a very quiet estate inside, so silence and stealth was needed. The area reminded me of a spot I had visited in Carlton, minus the railings on the walls, but the walls were very much the same look and feel. I can now see why many wouldn’t have liked it, the railings on the top of all the walls limited what could be done. I did wonder if we would get kicked off, or even shouted at from the residents who could see us bounding around their courtyard.

Once you had got past the rail situation, which spoiled many beautiful precisions, strides and kong precisions, I enjoyed the area. You just had to get used to what was there and find things to do within your capabilities, like the various precisions, pop vaults, dynos and cat to cats. There were some great potential. There was an interesting precision jump across a gap, which had a metal grill below. It was a bit like the IBM area minus the chains. As you moved along, the jump got further to do. It also looked to be a possible kong precision, which I believe Street Media had done it as. Ben was busy doing a big ass precision jump, I was quite sad as most of the jumps felt too big for me. I had a look at doing a cat to cat, instead of a precision jump as Ben and Femi did. Femi didn’t think I’d go for it as the 180 cat looked too big. Yet, I surprised him when I did it without much effort or a test jump as he thought I was going to prep it first.

 

 

I filmed it, along with some other stuff for a new RAW video seen above. I was quite pleased with the cat to cat and it didn’t hurt my toe too much, after stubbing it earlier when I was too over zealous with my first attempt. I noticed my hands were slightly orange from gripping the wall and later on everyone else had the same effect. This was really strange and as the others found, the more you rubbed yours hands on the top of the walls the more they went orange. It was like some strange deterrent, not that it was that, but either way it was odd. This is what made us to decide to call the place Cheetos, after the crisps which also stained the hands. Even though the actual place was called the Rope Walk Court. The next challenge was doing a cat, skipping a wall and landing in a catleap on the second wall. Another strange one for Femi, who was scared, that and being Mr. Linear, it was fun to see such an angled jump stump him.

Femi did a crazy upwards dyno. I gave it a go and got close, but Femi was the only one who got it and then filmed it various times for Snapchat. If only Yaz was here, he might have appreciated such a dyno. I filmed a small run, seeing as I couldn’t get a kong cat like Ben could. A turn vault, 180 cat and then back and over. After doing a cat I did almost went for a 18o precision back to the rail, but got scared when I slipped as I took off. One for the future though! It was fruity time, for myself and Ben who both had Pink Lady apples to munch upon. We were on our way out when more movements became apparent. Then it was time to put our bags down to try them and before we knew it, it had been another near hour passed. Runs, with least amount of steps between walls, linking various moves together, swing precisions and more filming and photography to be had.

 

Ben – Kong.

 

Once we finally left the area, I wanted to visit a spot from long ago, since we were this side of town. It wasn’t too far from the Canning Circus police station. It wasn’t a big spot, but from what I remember it had a few things there and a kong precision I wanted to do if the car park was empty. Sadly, that wasn’t a possibility as it was full of cars blocking the run up. I liked this area for photography, I had a shot in mind of Femi doing a flip off a step up. On closer inspection the wall was ever so slightly wobbling and being at an angle too it put him off trying it. The shot was beautiful and as much as I tried to get him to do the flip, he rejected me, dammit. Ben and Femi looked at a massive precision, it had a drop and the wall as rounded too. I was a case of who would do it first? Femi really wanted to do the jump, but each time he tried to force it his body wouldn’t let leave the wall. It was another movement, for another time.

Around the back there wasn’t much else to do, it wasn’t as good as I had remembered and not to mention it was a courtyard of the houses. So, it was onwards and upwards to the next location of the day. I didn’t fancy the long walk to Lenton now, that and we were feeling pretty tired. While some of the guys went to shop, the rest of us walked down a dodgy looking alleyway to some railings and a stair set. It had a big rail precision which Will and Ben did, then they said we might as well go into the main area. It was another courtyard, to the student buildings. The fence was only small, gated and yet if you walked further down you could step over it, not much of a deterrent. I was expecting to be removed after a small amount of time. Yet, it was the opposite and no one said a thing. Even when people from the buildings came out for a smoke, they just watched what it was we were doing, jumping between the walls and shrubbery.

 

Ben – Running Precision.

 

Most the precisions here were quite big, I was struggling to land any of them. While Ben, Femi and Will seemed to nail near all of them. There were some possible kong precisions, but too many of the shrubs were in the way and the walls were quite slippery on top. The only annoying thing about being in this area was a constant dripping from one of the gutters, which also made the flooring wet which was in direct line to some of the running precisions. The day was coming to an end for me, when I tried a running stride to box jump and on landing for the box, both feet had slipped forward off the wall as I jumped. I had already tweaked my back from committing to the jump and felt it crunch and then it hurt afterwards no end. I felt really drained from the day, it was warm too, I didn’t feel like I had done that much, but obviously I had done more than I had thought, throughout the day.

Adam was trying to commit to a running precision, finding it hard and yet he was doing a super, small kong precision which was basically on the floor with Ben! Once we had enough, that and I had taken enough portraits of Femi and Ben posing together. We ended up walking to the Arboretum Park, I expected the grass to be moist and yet it was surprisingly dry. I was feeling it now and could hardly move and just wanted to head home. I cannot even remember what sort of movements were being done due to that reason and pain. I had stopped taking photos too at this point. Femi mentioned there was another small park around the corner, how had I never seen or knew about that before?! He said him and George had trained it long ago, he wanted me too look at a kong precision George had done from the grass slope.

 

 

It was horrible and near top of the railing too, I didn’t like running along the grass slope either. Instead I opted to do it on a much lower railing, running along a small thin wall too. Femi was amazed I contemplated it, I was too tired to land it. It then lead to other ideas. Like running along a thin wall, jumping over the railing to land on another wall which Femi didn’t like nor at the time thought it was possible until I did it. He looked and instantly disliked it and said, what is wrong with you?! I didn’t see the problem with it myself and was quite happy to aim for a higher wall to land on. Will later nailed it, the game was to do it as a precision in reverse over the railing to the thin wall. I had switched to video now, capturing a few clips which give an idea of the movements described above. Being a new place, it was hard not to try everything possible, even in my broken state. It was quite the running precision paradise. Ben and Will were nailing a big downward precision, while I ended up ass planting the floor each try. I really do need bigger jumps to be able to take part in these games.

The day was ending and we went back to Femi’s place which ‘wasn’t far’ and yet seemed to take ages to reach. While we scattered throughout the house to the various toilets, we were reminded of Femi’s flip video where he did various flips in his room on his mattresses. It was then time to head over to Forest to train some more, but in the end all of us felt too tired, and decided to call it a day, much to Femi’s disappointment. It was all good though, as Ben and Adam were still up for training! I joined them at the workout park, which was on the way home for me. I wanted to join in and train, but was so tired and struggling to walk, energy levels depleted, my body wouldn’t allow even the simplest of vaults. With this I left the guys, I came across Danno of all people waiting for the same bus! It had been a great day of training and to explore and find more new places was good too, not to mention to finally sample the Cheetos spot too! I’m a broken man as I write this, great end to a great day…

 

Lonely Ladybug.

 

Ladybugs.

 

Will – Precision.

 

Femi – Portrait.

 

Will – Kong.

 

Will – Kong.

 

Adam – Portrait.

 

Femi – Dyno.

 

Ben – Kong Cat.

 

Ben – Kong Cat.

 

Femi – Run.

 

Will – Kong.

 

Will – Kong.

 

Will – Kong.

 

Ben – Run.

 

Femi – Precision.

 

Femi – Precision.

 

Ben – Running Precision.

 

Ben – Running Precision.

 

Will – Running Precision.

 

Will – Running Precision.

 

Femi – Portrait.

 

Femi – Portrait.

 

Ben & Femi – Portrait.

 

Ben & Femi – Portrait.

 

Ben & Femi – Portrait.

 

Ben & Femi – Portrait.

 

Ben & Femi – Portrait.

 

Will – Precision.

 

Femi – Dyno.

 

Femi – Dyno.

 

Femi – Dyno.

 

Femi – Kong.

 

Femi – Dash Vault.

 

Femi – Portrait.

 

Femi – Kong.

 

Ben – Portrait.

 

Ben – Portrait.

 

Will – Precision.

 

Will – Precision.

 

Femi – Portrait.

 

Ben & Femi – Portrait.

 

Ben – Portrait.

 

Ben – Portrait.

 

0 Responses to “Rain Warriors.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Traffic Love.

  • 59,485 Hits
Follow Zade's Training Blog. on WordPress.com

Popular Posts.

Post Archives.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email as and when they are created.


