A Warm Winter.

 

Ben – Running Precision.

 

I had planned to be out this weekend, as it had been months since I was last out [1] and the weather was set to be sunny for a change this weekend. It was looking promising and as if nothing could go wrong, well that was until Friday arrived when that lovely predicted sun changed to rain all day. Typically it always seemed to be rain on a Saturday, why was the weather not giving us a break for our weekly community jam? I wanted to train, as I’m sure many others did too. James wasn’t going to be out this weekend as he was busy watching Star Wars: The Force Awakens at the cinema. This was one reason I was expecting the weather to be good, as it was Sod’s Law (Murphy’s Law) that he wasn’t to be out and then miss a glorious day of training, being envious in the process. A similar thing happened when he wasn’t out one weekend [2] and then the Derby guys had come over and we adventured to the Victoria Embankment area to train for the day with many photos.

I ended up going to bed at around four o’clock binging on various TV show as I expected the day to now be rainy due to forecast, so what would be the point in going early to bed to awake to that rubbish outcome. After all, Sunday was looking the better day and I could train then instead, with no worry of rain ruining the day. I woke up at quarter to twelve to Adam having sent me various messages asking if I was awake yet and still up for training. I said yes I would be up for training, though he had expected me to say no. The floor outside was damp, wet in places and it looked overcast like it might rain again. But even with this, I said I would go out and he offered me a lift into town on his way, though I had around an hour to get ready and head out to meet him. I had to rush around to get ready, I didn’t expect to be out for long so it was easier to get ready than normal and I packed very little for the day ahead.

 

Shakespeare Street.

 

We ended up walking from the forest up to the new spot (seen above) as we called it, on Shakespeare Street near the Trent University. An area I had yet to sample, but some of the community had trained there before, as it had been built in the summer. The floor was still very wet and it seemed like it was going to be one of those days. As we arrived at the spot, I could see Holbrook and Parrish already jumping around. I guess we weren’t the only ones wanting to be out as it wasn’t raining, it didn’t go unnoticed that Holbrook had a black eye either, ouch. A funny story from when he was out at a gig. It felt good to be out, at a new spot getting ready for the day ahead. I felt energized, I wanted to get as much as possible done there before we no doubt got moved off. From what people had told me from training there a while back the security was on top of people using the area, with it still being newly created and so our time may have been limited.

A woman walked through the area as we were trained and said ‘don’t injure yourself before Christmas!’ To which Parrish told her his present was life insurance. Frankie had text when I checked my phone and that he was at Plaza and no one had arrived yet and that he was going to go home. It would seem no on was out yet then, I expected people to still be there and was planning to visit Plaza after I had trained at this spot for a bit. I rang and told Frankie where we were, and directed him the best I could to where it was located. Out of no where just like John Cena, Jack arrived along with Noah, Jp and Mat. It seems everyone was glad to be out due to it not raining and we spoke about how horrible it has been for weeks until now. The more of us that were out the more likely it was we would get noticed and moved on. Jp was doing some diving kong over the water feature then straight into a precision jump, along with some other movements.

 

Adam – Portrait.

 

Did I mention Adam was wearing a hilarious Christmas jumper today (seen above) which had a reindeer on it. I know it was December, but wasn’t that close to Christmas yet. I set my camera up and did some filming, thinking full well we would be removed before I even had the chance to film anything, so it was strange when we wasn’t. I think Adam had annoyed James as he text him to tell him we were training the new spot and hadn’t yet been moved. I felt quite strong with my jumping ability today, though that could be down to not being out for so long and having all the extra energy. Being so fresh I was unable to judge the distances and jump power to a degree. I could say the leg workouts might also be having a helping factor. As if Adam did a running upwards precision to the bench, why couldn’t I do it? I hate running upward precisions, no matter how far they are, this was one of those and mentally annoying.

After doing another similar one which was same level and no real difference in distance I had to then try and focus on this one. I think it was due to the lesser run up along the wall and I felt I wouldn’t make it, it was so frustrating. I got to the point where I instead ran along the floor to increase the run up and forced to do it regardless if I was going to make it or not. But I was going to try my damnedest to get it, as I ran towards it I uttered ‘I hate it! I hate it! I hate it’ which had Holbrook laughing as I did it and then before I knew it I had landed. It was easier than expected and I have no idea why I hated it, before trying it. Now I had to just do it with less run up and along the wall rather than the floor now. Ben and Daniel had arrived and with them they had brought the rain, as we began to have a heavy rain shower and it looked like the day was about to be over.

 

Ben – Precision.

 

Frankie who had no long arrived decided that after a few jumps and due to the rain he was going to leave and call it a day as he was busy later on. As the rain carried on coming down heavier and faster the others decided to head on over to Plaza, while I contemplated going home too. But as it happened Ben, Daniel, Adam and myself stayed and sheltered from the rain to see if it passed. It did stop but the damage was done and everywhere was wet through and yet, the walls still remained full of grip even while wet. A shame the same couldn’t be said for the wooden benches though, now the rain had passed it got really humid like it was a summers day. This in turn dried out the floor and walls, it was December and yet it was so warm that we needed to be in just a t-shirt or vest as if it was a day in July, craziness. You wouldn’t have thought it was December!

We stayed at this spot all day and without being disturbed by any security, perhaps we were just lucky or they couldn’t be bothered with telling us to move, but either way it was great to be able to session the area properly without having to worry. Adam did a fairly big running precision on the front flowerbeds, I was rather shocked he did it, but as usual he had the no fear Jennings approach. Then Daniel was nearly landing it too, with one foot on the landing wall and one in the soil. I didn’t think it was possible for myself as I don’t do running precisions of great distances, but I gave it a test and got close then did it running and landed it. It felt quite big to me and I had expected to flop and wreck my ankle due to the force and distance of it, as well as navigating the run along the road, curb and wall heights.

 

Ben – Handstand.

 

I drilled the running upwards bench precision more with Adam and we managed to get it with less and less run up. Though over time I could feel myself getting more tired and feeling like I might not make it at times as I jumped. I did have a go at it as a standing precision to the bench but as I landed with one foot on the bench which slipped forwards due to the wet patch and I nearly got hurt as a stumbled backwards. At this time someone was walking past and said ‘that was close, you were nearly a goner’ which I had to laugh about. Ben did the big precision down from the sculpture in the area down to the wall and bench, it looked massive on the photos. I wanted to do a jump from a top of a bench to a wall, but I felt tired and the damn bench was still too wet to jump from. I took some photos of Ben doing a massive running precision from two walls and how he made it I have no idea, he did it so many times as I captured the images.

As well as doing the running precision, Ben was filming some short clips from the day. I was trying to do small kong precisions on the wall and then slowly clear the water stream, which proved difficult to do. Same for diving kong over it, that had the same mental fear and yet at Plaza the gap was no problem, not like a  bit of water would cause any damage as such but mentally it proved to be a block. It had been a great day and a few hours but I had decided to call it a day and Adam was about ready for home too. I remember Ben and Daniel stayed out long into the darkness and stupidly once I got home I did a leg workout, even if I had a pulled buttock from being out training. I’m not too sure how many more training sessions I’ll get in before Christmas, but we shall see what happens with the time and the weather and if it permits more jumping days.

 

Adam – Portrait.

 

Ben – Running Precision.

 

Ben – Running Precision.

 

Ben – Precision.

 

Ben – Precision.

 

Ben – Precision.

 

Ben – Precision.

 

Ben – Kong.

 

Ben – Precision.

 

Ben – Precision.

 

Ben – Portrait.

 

Ben – Running Precision.

 

Ben – Running Precision.

 

Ben – Precision.

 

0 Responses to “A Warm Winter.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Traffic Love.

  • 58,590 Hits
Follow Zade's Training Blog. on WordPress.com

Post Archives.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email as and when they are created.


