Wet and Humid.

 

James – Portrait.

 

It wasn’t predicted to rain this weekend, but like any weekend prediction it seemed to be wrong. It absolutely hammered it down with that summer monsoon type rain from eight in the morning, so much so that it even woke me up. I decided to go back and sleep and not bother to go out to train, I woke back up just before twelve. It seems to be my usual routine of late, annoying as I would struggle to make it out of my bed before a training session. The outside world was wet through, it kept raining, most annoyingly. It seemed from the event very few were out, not that I blamed them with the current weather. I decided to leave it too, I didn’t want to go out when the weather was this bad. I was already in a mood, but James remained positive about the day, saying it wouldn’t be that bad or will clear and dry up given time. Adam wanted to train too and said he would give me a lift to town, trying to tempt me to go with him…

I agreed, I would go if it was sunny by the time he was ready to leave. As I got ready the weather had picked up and started to look good and so I confirmed that I would join Adam on the town venture. Only for it to throw it down again as I was about to leave my house. I packed my raincoat and a jumper and felt increasingly less motivated to train. I walked over the field to the Parkour Park to meet Adam, passing the cadets event that was going on at the time, not seeing Radford any where as he said he would be at the event. We arrived in town and made our way to Plaza for two to find only Pete, Will, Holbrook and some other guy training there. I didn’t know why I had come out, I was already bored of being there due to the weather on our way to town. I was feeling tired and so spent most of my time talking and slowly warming up.

 

Mat – Precision.

 

While training some kong precisions I tried to get James, Pete and Adam to add a striding or running over the small blue railing before going into the kong precision. Pete didn’t like it at first but soon got used to it and Adam was giving it a go too. This had added great difficulty to James, who got confused, losing all his foot placements¬† once running at the railing to be able to do the kong precision. We had to further break it down for Jallen, saying just stand on the railing first before going for the whole run. While James did it standing before the railing, trying to get used to the skip part which he normally does. Anything other, threw him out of sync and wasn’t as easy as others found it. The hardest part after the rail, was running and making sure not to hit the slanted part of the flooring. I really needed to film today for a new RAW video and got the idea of some movements when I saw Pete, James and Adam were doing running precisions off a wall which was broken and across the road gap. It was a start to my day of filming short clips.

I captured some nice angles for my new RAW and watched as the others did the running jump. Holbrook and Mat did a bigger standing precision jump from the blue railing (as seen above) to the pavement. The running jump had, like many movements bewildered James in the beginning. Running from the curb rather than the wall was proving mentally difficult to commit to the landing, landing short and pulling pout at the last second even though he easily had the height. He went through the stepping, running and jumping off different legs even trying to do it as a box jump to help stick out the legs towards the pavement. He did get it in the end though and it was another movement to be worked on in the future. It was a fun movement, even if on an occasion I landed slightly short, giving myself an ankle breaker. We then moved over to the Gray Walls, an area from long ago. Though there was not much to practise these days with only the front of the area having the walls left standing. I set up to take an image of Holbrook doing a crazy slanted rail precision, which can be seen below.

 

Holbrook – Rail Precision.

 

This rail felt stable, but it looked insane as a distance due to the landing on a slant, it was also a height drop too. Plain and simply, horrible. It produced some awesome images though. I set up and made sure I wasn’t in Will’s shot who was also shooting Holbrook at the same time. On James first attempt of doing the move, he had over powered it and landed on his heels on the rail, nearly toppling off it and face planting. With his other attempts being more successful and precise on his landing. His next move from that was to link a pop lazy, round vault type movement over a wall with the Nottingham Conference Centre sign. This same sign also resulted in numerous portraits of James being taken too. The next bit of the area was the corner of the building and wall. Where Mat was doing a big and scary running upwards precision off the wide wall to the corner of the building.

The hardest part of this was watching out for the traffic as he sprinted across the busy road to generate enough speed for the move. This got people watching from the public, then later on a friendly security guard came past saying he has no problem with us training, providing we don’t go on the roofs just as Mat and Holbrook were trying to scale to the roof! He seemed to know Ben as well. A few of us did the diagonal downwards precision and Jallen and Adam looked at it but decided it was too difficult and scary to do with the limited take off. While Pete didn’t like it at first, he gave it a go and got it easily. Another random event happened when a woman passing by had a go at Mat, who she said was trying to kill himself… All very random! I captured a funny portrait of Ben and his banana, no not a euphemism. Holbrook did a giant precision jump from the top of a bus stop to the gray wall, though James has better shots (one seen below) of that movement [1] from the day.

 

Holbrook - Precision.

Holbrook – Precision.

 

I was quite annoyed I didn’t get a good angle of the jump. I kept seeing good angles and then missing the movements. The plan was to move to Flats, before we got there we stopped off at an area just before which had some small walls and railings. I decided I would film more RAW clips for the new video. The small kong precision I used to do with ease was now scaring me oddly enough. It didn’t help that for the run up, there was a slight dip in the ground to avoid or accept it as you ran towards the railing. When I did go for it, I landed it and it felt easier than I expected and then I spent time getting various angles to choose from for when editing. There was a fun tic tac precision to be done too and I so wanted to do the kong precision in reverse as a diving kong, but rail kongs scared me to death. Even though Ben did it so easily, and it looked lovely, if only I could have committed to doing it to. Then it was time to eat and spent time chatting amongst ourselves before moving up to different areas.

My photography taking ended there, I decided to train and film instead. That, and I guess I didn’t have much to take photo wise, bar the few precision shots near the end of the day of Will. I took another look at the upwards diagonal precision jump I had done previously [2] yet my legs and body were too tired to even see it as possible this time, let alone attempt it. We moved up to the next area of Flats. The running precision I could do, but the standing the jump felt too far for me, so strange. Even if James and Adam were blasting it relentlessly and landing and bouncing it. It felt like the training session weeks before, where we moved down to the railing again, this time Holbrook and Mat did the various precision and box jumps and even trying to do flips on landing from them. The bush there had also been recently trimmed added extra range for the movements.

 

Zade (Me) - Kong Precision.

Zade (Me) – Kong Precision.

 

The last part of the day was spent at Epic Wall, where Adam and James were yet again battling it out to see who could get the catleap first. Just like in previous weeks, then the same happened for the pop wall climb. I don’t know how people still had energy for it, I sure didn’t. They kept failing and yet were still attempting it. I was flagging and ready to call it a day soon, it was so humid too which didn’t help matters and being lethargic. I went to look at a precision which had two walls apart with some bins in-between them. Even that felt too big for my tired legs now. I took some photos of Will doing a standing precision, which came out nicely with the storm clouds in the background. I filmed a few extra bits of Ben advertising his milkshake before drinking and posing with it.

As well as Holbrook doing a running catleap from the entrance to the flats to another further wall,which I hadn’t seen anyone do as a running cat before. It looked like it might rain soon, and we all decided to call it a day and spoke for a bit while James cooled down and the rest of us tried not to die from exhaustion. On mine and Adam’s walk back to the car at Forest, which felt terribly far we did stop off at Girls High to train for a bit and I filmed some more movement runs there to add to RAW footage before we made our way back to forest and did some more training and videoing on Adam’s GoPro. It wasn’t until I was feeling really tried, that my legs could no longer jump even the easiest of jumps that I checked the time. It was so late and then we headed off home.

 

Holbrook – Precision.

 

Holbrook – Precision.

 

Holbrook – Lazy Vault.

 

Holbrook – Lazy Vault.

 

James – Portrait.

 

James – Portrait.

 

Will – Precision.

 

Mat – Running Precision.

 

Mat – Running Precision.

 

Ben – Portrait.

 

Holbrook – Rail Precision.

 

Holbrook – Rail Precision.

 

Holbrook – Portrait.

 

Holbrook – Portrait.

 

Holbrook – Portrait.

 

Mat – Running Precision.

 

Mat – Running Precision.

 

Will – Precision.

 

Benches.

 

Leave a Reply

Traffic Love.

  • 58,584 Hits
Follow Zade's Training Blog. on WordPress.com

Post Archives.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email as and when they are created.


