Festive Coldness.

 

Sark – Running Precision.

 

Today was cold and frosty, I was already feeling pretty tired and didn’t want to really be out training. I was running late as usual and I knew the coldness would only make me feel worse, along with my mood after being out for many hours in the bitter cold. I made a concious effort to wrap up before heading out, the preparing for an arctic blizzard kind of wrap up with layers upon layers, scarves, gloves and being prepared for the minus digits. I arrived at Plaza to find that no one had arrived yet, even though I was running late I had still managed to arrive before half past twelve. There were two bikers in the area, riding, jumping and whatever else it is that those urban, freestyle, trail bikers do… I sat and watched them, while I waited for other to arrive, while they seemed alerted to my presence. Perhaps they thought I was trying to steal their possessions, which is far from the truth. It looked like they were destroying the walls from the force of their bike frames, clanking as they landed. I don’t have anything against skateboarders or bikers, but lets be honest here, they have far more chance of destroying their environment than we do. I mean the odd brick which may come loose from ourselves, and we have far more chance of breaking our own bodies than a sturdy concreted rail or wall. Plus when they are in the same areas we practise at, there would be nothing worse than seeing them damage something we used too. As we are very respectful of our environment and want to keep the longevity of everything we use.

It wasn’t long before they rode off to another area and I remained sat, waiting for people to arrive. I didn’t want to warm up on my own, only to cool down again once people arrived as I would be chatting to them. I was feeling the cold already, it was blowing through my clothing or I was that cold that I felt it more after being sat on an overheated bus on my way to town. Thankfully Ben and his friend Josh arrived and then I was able to try and warm up. Sark was next to arrive on his festive feeling tinsel wrapped bicycle. Pete, Aidan and Matt were next to arrive along with others and finally James, who had decided to bust out his pack lunch to eat before training. Shouldn’t people have already ate before coming out training, so they are fuelled and ready for the day? Denis had text Pete asking if people were out training today, I told him to reply and say people are always out and that he should know this by now… That and there is a massive swarm of people out too. He quickly text back saying he wouldn’t be out because of the masses of people! I had to laugh because Denis has become such a lazy yak, even more so than myself. I hadn’t seen him in a very long time, since he last visited to the Parkour park in 2014. I hope he comes out training again soon. I had grown bored of being at Plaza already, it’s fast become the Urine Nation (UN) of 2005 for myself what with people always training here. The more I seem to train it, the more I hate it.

 

Sark – 360° Wallhop.

 

People seemed up for moving to another, different area and so myself and Sark decided we would take a walk over to the Adams Building. Only for Sark who was leading the party to completely change direction once he got to the bottom of the road, stating he was now leading us to Bilbie Walk to session instead. There were groans about going to Adams in the first place, but who would have thought Bilbie would have been such a good choice once we arrived. I hadn’t seen or been to that area for many years! On arriving I saw there were lots of new bike rails, the cut through giant steel gates were open today. It felt very different to how it used to be in past and at the same time oh so familiar too, plenty of new challenges to be had. Some of the guys were using the wide bin to do vaults and flips over while others were doing  box jumping over the railings, precision jumps and striding along the whole section of them. This area is forever changing, I remember at one time when there used to be giant plant pots here like the ones which used to be in IBM area. We even used to use the raised concrete platform as a take of for tricking too, before the bin was put there [1] and I can even remember a time before the blue rails at the entrance of the building had been constructed and the colour theme was different too.

Turn vaults and then pop vaulting back up and over the blue railing, like a kong was another movement being practised. While others were doing a catleap the other side of the building, while I captured a few photos of Sark doing a running precision jump to one of the bike railings. I also took a wider shot (seen at the top) and due to the spacing between each frame of Sark I knew it will be a good shot to merge together in PS once home. Some tried to shimmy across the long part of the wall which was next to impossible due to having nothing but the brickwork groves to hold on too. This challenge is good if it had more grips for the fingers and has of yet hasn’t been done, even though it’s one people have looked at over the years to do. It wasn’t too long before we all ventured down through the gates and into the main area with the main wall people try to scale. James mentioned how it’s like turning back time as he had seen Bilbie in videos, read about it recently in a old blog post I shared [2] and now we are there training the exact same area. It was an area we used to train in great lengths back in 2005-2008. Then after the buildings had been demolished, modernised and areas changed with endless disputes with security, we no longer trained there.

 

Sark – Callus Injury.

 

Speaking of being old school, myself and Sark spoke about how in earlier years 360 wallhops used to be all the rage and that he used to always practise those along with other spinning degree ones like 270 ones too. With this in mind, I asked if he wouldn’t mind doing a 360 wallhop for old times sake so I could take a photo too. While capturing some shots of him doing that movement, on one occasion his foot had slipped and he slammed into the wall with his back while trying to stop himself from falling flat on his ass. Then on another attempt the sharp wall had sliced open one of his calluses and naturally I had to get some lovely, gruesome images of it bleeding like the above imagery. Some random guy walking past joined in by doing a pop wall climb and then spoke with James about the training sessions as he would like to join us at some point in the future. It was great to see Mat and Aidan conquering the pop wall climb after many tries and encouragement from everyone.It was also good to see James get the catleap from the railing, which he did easily and said he had never done it before. Even if he had to jump on top of the rail first before going for the catleap, as he struggled to step up onto it from static.

Usually he would fret over such a new movement, yet today he just got up there and did it without hesitating which was great progression. If only he could apply this to other such challenging movements he has on his tick list! We moved round the corner to where you could do the splits Splinter Cell style between two walls, another exercise which we used to try and do along with walking up and down the wall with the hands on one side and the legs on the other. I got Sark to try the splits, which he said it felt like his groin was going to explode as soon as he held it while other people didn’t have the flexibility for it at all. With that we made our way to the bottom of the area where there were yet more bike rails, they had a sort of sheltering over them to protect the bikes from the weather elements. This was meant to be a short stop off point, but instead we ended up training there for quite a while, swinging between the rails, doing various press up routines, talking and just flowing ideas off one another.

 

James – Catleap.

 

Some of the guys were practising a strange movement, doing a sort of push through to precision. I wouldn’t class it as a lache as you had to hold a pole either side of you while jumping from a railing before pushing through. Using the push you could then land in front on a smaller curb, it felt strange but looked nice in photos. Ben could do an actual lache precision, where you had to hold onto the shelter in a horrible reverse grip and somehow manage to swing without slipping off for the lache precision. While this push through precision had him truly stumped, he could not get the mechanics of the move and was getting frustrated with each try, shouting out in frustration when he failed. I’ve never seen Ben get annoyed before, but this was too funny! It got funnier the longer it went on and the more he tired the movement. He did get it in the end though, much to his delight and very easily too. We all had different ways of doing the move though, apparently I didn’t jump or use the momentum to do mine. I just pushed through with my arms from holding the hanging position pretty much. While others would jump as if it was a precision jump, tapping or pushing off the bars to get a bit more momentum to the curb during the jump.

The next area to visit despite most of us (myself and James) not wanting to go was to the Flats area. We walked there to find everything was soaked and wet through. A bad choice by Sark to even suggest this area, as it’s a place which is never dry at the best of times and is always shaded too. We stayed at a walled section, while some of us including myself were bored and stood around complaining about the area and how other places would be better suited and less wet than here. We then voted that we should just go elsewhere like Adams which we had first planned to visit earlier in the day. The group had divided as we walked through the city centre while some went to get food others were slower at walking and got left in the dust until we all reunited at back at Adams. It was getting darker now and as usual when we came to Adams, it became a chill place rather than training one. There were some skateboarders in the area too making loud noises as their boards smashed against the walls and floor, surely this would cause us all to be kicked off soon if they remained… People started to train kong and dash vaults on the small walls. Kong precisions, and even the running upwards precisions to keep warm.

 

Ben – Push through.

 

It felt like the end of a training day, everyone slowing down with their movement and speaking about calling it a day soon and yet we decided we would move over to Castle College. More so to troll and try and get James to do the running catleap there he has YET to do, at least that was the plan anyway. By the time we got there the group had fractioned again, people were at different areas training. Mat was missing, Sark had already gone home and some were over at Auditorium jumping around. I spent most of my time doing pull ups on the blue bar and using my resistant band to hold front levers until the others arrived. When James and Pete arrived to keep warm we did a small circuit doing a dead hang for five seconds then a single pull up, dead hang for ten seconds then a pull up and repeat this increasing the time by five seconds each time to see how far we got. This destroyed us all, being the end of the day and really pumped the forearms too. I couldn’t believe how hard it was to do, it never felt this difficult when I did the circuit at the Parkour park.

The last thing I did was show James and Pete the sort of ascending circuits I do at the Parkour park involving a circuit of pull ups, dips, press ups, squats and abdominal exercises. You start in repetitions of two for all exercises, bar the muscle up which remains a singular repetition and then once you have done the circuit everything is done in fours, sixes, eights and finally tens to complete the workout. Needless to say it quickly pulled and wrecked our already fatigued bodies. A killer of a workout and with that, feeling warmer, sore and tired I decided I would leave the guys and head for home. Just in time too while they did another lower body circuit of Pete’s choice while I made my way home. I was excited to see what little photos I had taken from today, to see if they were worthy of being uploaded. I had thoroughly enjoyed training today, visiting the old spot Bilbie Walk too. It felt great to semi train, taking part in things even if the weather was really cold again. Bring on next weeks training I say!

 

Sark – Callus Injury.

 

James – Push Through.

 

Ben – Lache Precision.

 

Sark – Running Precision.

 

Sark – Running Precision.

 

Sark – 360° Wallhop.

 

James – Catleap.

 

James – Catleap.

 

Sark – 360° Wallhop.

 

James – Catleap.

 

Sark – Callus Injury.

 

James – Push Through.

 

Sark – Push through.

 

Sark – Push through.

 

Ben – Lache Precision.

 

3 Responses to “Festive Coldness.”


  1. 1 James Allen March 10, 2015 at 20:10

    Great write up as always mate. Here are my photos from that day for those who are interested.

    https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.891754927523945.1073741838.649721435060630&type=3

    Oh and in answer to the eating at start of the session point – I haven’t had breakfast that long when I’m getting packed up to go out so make something to have either when I arrive or a little later. Then spread out other bits throughout the session for fuelling ;)

  2. 2 Nathan Gallagher April 8, 2015 at 15:46

    Hey i am a practitioner and a student in nottingham an would definately be up for training next time you guys have a meet up!


Leave a Reply

Traffic Love.

  • 59,110 Hits
Follow Zade's Training Blog. on WordPress.com

Post Archives.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email as and when they are created.


