#128 – Zade & Ant Weekday Adventure.

 

Like most training sessions, they are held at the weekends and very occasionally, in the week, but usually the evenings. However, this session was to be a Tuesday afternoon as I wanted to train and seeing as Ant was available he said he would be out. He was wanting to get more training done in Nottingham, as it had more areas to train. Ant is apart of the Kirkby Parkour group that comes to train with us. He has been to a few of the weekend training sessions and even though I have trained with him and the others of the group, I don’t properly know Ant all that well. He is in many ways, much like David in the respects of being quiet and gets on with training. He does talk, but usually when spoke to and he is also good at what he can do (movement wise) and is quite strong, like an Ox too. I hear he is meant to have a giant dong like one too, if you believe what the guys tell you…

It was an unusual pairing, no one else was free and so it was going to be an interesting training session. We met and then headed over to the NCP car park for the start of our training session, another not so usual route. I had already trained UN (Urine Nation) way too much, but as for the upper floor, not so much and there were a few things I wanted to practise. We had picked a fine day to train, while we were at the top of the car park it looked as if it may rain. The clouds in the distance were so dark as you can see in many of the images. Practising a dyno (double tap) as some of us called them back then, too and from the railing ledges. Increasing the distance with each lower rung, trying to get it from the furthest point. It felt near impossible not to kick the leg out behind you to readjust the momentum of the dyno, which I didn’t like the look of and wanted to stop it happening.

 

Ant – Kong.

 

I captured some images of Ant doing kong vaults (one seen above) over the nearby wall. Ant flew over the slightly higher than normal wall so easily. As well as being higher, it was thicker too. So you had to be able to kong well as it wasn’t like being able to vault a thin railing. I was quite envious, as he would skip step into the kong as well, which made it look even nicer. I tried to learn and mimic how he did the skip step, but it felt so unnatural and impossible to do myself. I instead would always double foot punch kong over those walls, as I knew that would give me the height I needed to clear them. I do try to skip step kong, but with how mentally challenging it is and plays on your mind about the run up, I gave up for now. We did some kong drops over the higher wall, though neither one of us rolled out of them. Something we should both be doing from that impact, but Ant couldn’t roll and hadn’t yet learnt how to…

I just didn’t like to roll, as like with many people it was something which hurt the shoulder or hip. I guess being skinny didn’t help this matter, so if I did roll I preferred to be wearing my hoodie. I really hoped it wouldn’t rain as then our day would be  limited to where we could go and not to mention it will have been a wasted trip for Ant. It did start to spit with rain and we hoped it would pass as we made our way over to the Auditorium hotspot. I was doing a fairly big precision jump (seen below) and I was quite pleased with such a jump. Looking for other equally big precision jumps to do. Ant has good power in most of the movement he does, even if he doesn’t feel overly confident with them, he can most certainly do them. So when I said he should give the precision a go, he was reluctant at first as it seemed too big for him to achieve.

 

Zade (Me) – Precision.

 

He stood and gazed at the jump distance, unsure but taking my word for it and after a test jump at the side which he had distance wise and just had to commit to the actual jump now. Most hate the precision due to the lamp post as it is in the way for landing and most fear banging the knees if you aren’t careful. Once you can push that out of the mind it is very doable, plus if you land short you can hold on to the lamp post. In Ant’s case that is exactly what he did when he landed, with his legs apart to counter hitting the post. I had a look at a bigger precision jump further up and to date it is one of the furthest jumps I have done. It was from one of the walls to yet another lamp post, it had a bit of a height drop too as I stood there. It looked massive, I could see it but at the same time from standing afar it looked nuts!

I was very surprised to get the jump comfortably, it felt amazing and then I got a few photos to show my new achievement. I was still in shock, and had to have another look before we left the area later on. There was another big jump similar but that was on the same wall, but to a lower wall and you didn’t have the height to guide you over, it was 11ft too and maybe one day in the future I’ll hit that one too. Precision jumps were something I was quickly getting the habit of, along with catleaps and it was a movement I practised lots of, time after time. Stick to what you are good at, as the saying goes. We moved over to a bin which was a kong precision to the nearby steps. It was one I kept trying to but was falling short on and it wasn’t consistent. Ant got it very easily, with his skip step kong technique.

 

Zade (Me) – Catleap.

 

I really need to practise more kongs, to get them as nice and increase my own distance with them, which was next to nothing. At least it felt that way and it was very difficult to see an improvement with them, always remaining the same. Any distance increase I did get was only by a few centimetres, gaining half a foot at most and the most annoying part of this would be to lose that advantage the next time I was out. It felt a vicious and cruel circle and no matter of the effort I put into them it didn’t help. I guess punching into the kong did much, but others could still travel vast distances with the same technique, so why couldn’t I?! The standing catleaps in the area felt way easier than they have ever done before, thanks to the increase in my precision jumping ability.

Ant had yet to feel comfortable with catleaps and speaking of which I don’t think I had yet seen him do one! Only practising the basics like precision jumps and kongs with other occasional vaults like speed vaults, lazy vaults, reverse vaults and such. After training and filming we decided to take a walk over to the Houses area to train, even if it was mid week we should still able to train there. When we arrived there were only a few cars parked out the front of the buildings. Not even sure if they were open if I’m honest as everywhere seemed to be closed up or they had already finished for the day.  I drilled some tic tac cats and got Ant to take a few photos of them for me. I do love this tic tac and the way it makes you glide high in the air and you bounce off the wall to the next, like some computer game character.

 

Ant – Portrait.

 

I remember when it used to seem impossible to cat the wall, but over time it became easier and now it’s the norm. Not to mention a few do the tic tac cat with two steps or as a 180 push off the wall, added some flare to the movement. When Ant did the tic tac, he didn’t go as high, but more towards the wall like many do at first. Over time that changes and gets easier with the confidence and it was nice to see Ant doing a different movement. As well as practising tic tacs we also drilled a precision jump into a doorway, that was a fun one to try and stick. Due to there being next to no room, if you jumped too hard like Ant did on a few occasions you end up hitting your knees into the door much to amusement and possibly setting off the alarm.

If you landed too short you would bounce off the step backwards or have to grab the door frame either side to counter that fact. It was a fun and frustrating challenge to try. Oh and we also took some posed portrait shots of each other, just to show what badass practitioners we were. That and Ant wanted a nice portrait of himself and I was still collecting shots of everyone that trained for the website. The portraits cringe in retrospect, more so mine. The ones of Ant look respectable and badass. Maybe in many years to come we shall revisit this area and take a present day photo to pay homage to this day and blog, who knows time will tell in another decade if we are both still practising then!?

 

Zade (Me) – Precision.

 

Zade (Me) – Precision.

 

Zade (Me) – Precision.

 

Zade (Me) – Dyno.

 

Zade (Me) – Dyno.

 

Zade (Me) – Dyno.

 

Ant – Kong.

 

Ant – Kong.

 

Zade (Me) – Kong.

 

Ant – Kong.

 

Zade – Portrait.

 

Zade (Me) – Kong.

 

Ant – Kong.

 

Ant – Kong.

 

Ant – Portrait.

 

Ant – Precision.

 

Ant – Precision.

 

Ant – Portrait.

 

Zade (Me) – Precision.

 

Zade (Me) – Precision.

 

Zade (Me) – Precision.

 

Ant – Kong Precision.

 

Ant – Kong Precision.

 

Zade (Me) – Portait.

 

Zade (Me) – Catleap.

 

Ant – Precision.

 

Zade (Me) – Tic Tac Cat.

 

Zade (Me) – Tic Tac Cat.

 

Ant – Portrait.

 

Zade (Me) – Portrait.

 

0 Responses to “#128 – Zade & Ant Weekday Adventure.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Traffic Love.

  • 59,110 Hits
Follow Zade's Training Blog. on WordPress.com

Post Archives.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email as and when they are created.


