#119 – Kongs, Pavement & Posture.

 

Like most Sunday afternoons, I felt worse for wear after the Saturday training session. However, I didn’t feel too bad today and got ready to head out for another day of training in the heat with David and Flip. Like all training sessions in our small, collective group we always had a brilliant time training [1] [2] and I had a good feeling about today’s session. We met at the Concert Hall and then made our way to Houses, moving across the road to the area behind the offices there. After a few precision jumps to and from the metal fire escape steps we decided to get creative. We started by doing the precision across to the stairwell, running up the steps, vaulting over the railing mid way up, landing with a roll. Running up the steps as fast as possible felt brutal and killed the momentum and flow, not that it stopped Flip who had it the smoothest. After the precision across, there was a slight hesitation from not getting enough power and I tried to compensate by pushing off the steps. I opting to do a safer option over the railing, doing a turn vault instead of a kong as the railing felt too high for me to try and kong.

Flip did a precision from higher up on the steps (seen in the below image) to the railings edge. It looked awesome and David and myself both simultaneously ran over to have a look too. I wanted to try it, even though the distance was small it really scared me! I do hate rails for precisions at times, this jump was upwards from the closet step. Each other step you went up levelled out the jump but increased the overall distance. Which felt even worse due to the added height and distance. The other thing putting me off was the fact everything was open and see through, by that I mean you could see the floor through the railings and it was hard enough to focus on the rail we were landing on with the other railings within view too. I couldn’t gauge the jump that well either, usually they come closer to you when you stare at the landing and are sure about a jump, but with this it moved back and forth. David didn’t like it either, I did manage to massively undershoot it, bouncing off onto the steps with an almighty clunk. I don’t know why but I couldn’t stick it, and I didn’t want to overshoot it and drop off, even though that wasn’t a problem to do height wise.

 

Flip – Precision.

 

While taking a few photos, Flip was quick to state I should spend more time setting up the shot, using the surroundings more. As I take the same old style of slanted shots that are close to the action. I have tried to stray away from that since people have pointed it out, but you tend to stick to what works. So with some of the shots, I tried to get a different style of angle to normal, trying to fit in more of the surroundings in. Like you will see in some of today’s shots, I’ve tried to include more, if at times all of the fire escape in a few of the shots. The fire escape railing felt too high for me to kong, so I always did a sort of awkward side vault over even when I tried not too. It was so annoying as David and Flip could both kong it easily, but it scared me too much and I didn’t want to clip my feet and face plant the floor from a height either. I shot similar images while trying to capture the perfect air posture shot of Flip, he did a few kongs while holding his shins as he flew through the air. I quite like how my turn vault images came out today. The photos felt fresh and new, I need to train or photograph more of these less documented areas we jump around at.

We decided to move over to High Pavement for our next destination of choice. I don’t know how we came about it, but I think due to wanting to flow and try more creative movements we came up with a run along the walls before vaulting the main one onto the pebbles. It felt scary to run, stride each wall, there were so many places to look and be aware of what you are doing. Both hands and feet wise, it was a co-ordination nightmare, with anything going wrong. Flip did a very nice stride to lazy vault over the walls. It looked awesome and flowing, I was sad that I couldn’t do it myself. It was something to practise though, the main fear I had about the lazy vault was not making it to the wall and falling down the gap, or not passing over the wall and failing. It felt too scary to do a lazy vault from standing too, I felt like I couldn’t get enough jump power and would crumple between the walls. Yet, running towards it for a lazy vault felt equally as nasty! After a long while of working it out and being scared I got enough bottle to give it a go and it felt awesome to achieve! Even if I missed my second hand placement on the wall as I went over and panicked, as well as hearing my trousers scuffing along the wall as I passed over it.

 

Zade – Lazy Vault.

 

The next move was a diving kong over the wall and guess what, this was one kong movement that I felt confident with and could do! The pebbles acted as a sort of safety sponge, absorbing the impacts but you sure felt it in the quads. Flip and David were doing the kong along a different part, striding the few walls before. Though, after seeing David’s feet slip completely over the edge of the take off wall and him still managing to commit and get over for the kong, I wasn’t sure I wanted to practise it! He wasn’t the most co-ordinated of people, how he avoided dying and still managed to vault the wall, landing on his feet bewildered me! It was funny to see, but could have ended a lot worse, all things considered. Flip did a kind of lazy vault which he then turned into a splits vault as he went over the wall. The photos taken from behind me doing a lazy vault were a nice touch from Flip and something I hadn’t really seen in Parkour yet. It always feels good to look back at other peoples angles and shots, you can get some really nice shots and have no idea what to expect when going through them. This is why it’s so brilliant to give your camera to others to take photos, especially if they have an eye for it too. Better than the generic angles that you take yourself time after time.

We ended up making our way over to Arboretum, that secret garden spot along the forest part at the back of the of Arboretum. You had to scale the castle like wall, but it was always fun to train in there, plus there was the school parts next to it to explore too. We went back to the area with the rail kong precision. Drilling it over and over again, I found it really hard to commit to this time round. I had only done it a week or two before and yet it was taking many, many attempts and still I was landing short. What was this trickery, I couldn’t commit to extending my feet to the wall and/or not getting enough speed and power from the kong off the rail. It seemed we were all suffering the same comment issue, with non of us getting it. I had managed to stub my toe on a couple of attempts while landing short, which really hurt and felt like turf toe. Flip had striped half naked and sprinted towards the railing on one attempt, I was laughing so much I nearly didn’t capture a photo! I put the commitment down to us being tired from all the newer stuff we had been practising.

 

Zade (Me) – Kong Precision.

 

It’s so hard to run full speed towards a rail to vault over, so many scary thoughts go through your mind as you run of clipping your feet and face planting, the hands slipping over the railing, flailing in the air from too much forward power and who knows what else. I love the area, like I mentioned before in a previous blog [3] it’s so peaceful and out of sight from the public for training. I mean I’m always wary in case we did get caught be a caretaker, security or anyone who may randomly be in the building. Which we haven’t been so far, being the weekend when ever we visit, but you never know… On the occasions when the gates have been open or a car is parked in the car park, we are on higher alert or decided against training there just to be safe. Like most areas we train, you don’t want to cause trouble or risk it being know that you train there regular and then lost the spot all together.

Flip was quick to point out another, horrible kong precision over a rail which was much higher than others from today and over a drop with some steps leading down to a basement. You then, after gliding over those in the air, had to land onto a thin concrete ledge with just enough space for both feet to land. That wasn’t one for myself nor David, but Phil landed it with ease which you’ll see in the below images. I quite like the image of me doing a lazy vault over a railing too, the low, upward angle works well and even the dismount shot of me falling downwards has a nice feel too. I put my camera away and we spent the rest of the day training, I did get my video camera out to film more footage for a future video. I’m quite looking forward to getting back home to look through all the photos on the big screen, from a quick glance they all look really good and I can’t wait to edit and upload them all.

 

Flip – Kong.

 

Zade (Me) – Speed Vault.

 

Zade (Me) – Portrait.

 

Zade (Me) – Portrait.

 

David – Portrait.

 

Flip – Kong Precision.

 

Flip – Kong Precision.

 

Flip – Portrait.

 

Flip – Precision.

 

David – Kong.

 

David – Kong.

 

Zade (Me) – Turn Vault.

 

Flip – Kong.

 

Flip – Kong.

 

Flip – Kong.

 

Zade (Me) – Turn Vault.

 

Zade (Me) – Lazy Vault.

 

Zade (Me) – Lazy Vault.

 

Flip – Kong.

 

Zade – Lazy Vault.

 

High Pavement.

 

David – Portrait.

 

Zade (Me) – Kong.

 

Flip – Lazy Vault.

 

David – Kong.

 

David – Kong.

 

Flip – Lazy Vault.

 

Flip – Lazy Vault.

 

Flip – Lazy Vault.

 

Flip – Kong Precision.

 

Zade (Me) – Lazy Vault.

 

Zade (Me) – Portrait.

 

Zade (Me) – Kong Precision.

 

Flip – Kong Precision.

 

1 Response to “#119 – Kongs, Pavement & Posture.”



  1. 1 #122 – The Core Three. | Zade's Training Blog. Trackback on December 17, 2015 at 20:23

Leave a Reply

Traffic Love.

  • 59,163 Hits
Follow Zade's Training Blog. on WordPress.com

Post Archives.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email as and when they are created.


